KennyM's System

Share your journey!

Moderator: Staff

KennyM

KennyM's System

Post by KennyM »

Firstly, HI to everyone!

I am a retired Chartered Surveyor and live near Glasgow in the West of Scotland. Being retired I have plenty of time to enjoy my music collection and my system is well used.

I have had music systems of one kind or another for the past 40 years or so. The first system I can remember comprised a Rotel stereo receiver with a Fons CQ30 turntable with an SME 3009 arm and unknown cartridge. I still have the T/T and several hundred LPs, although they are now packed away in the attic.

The roots of my present system were more A/V orientated starting about 12 years or so ago when I got Sky and acquired a used Denon A/V receiver and a set of Tannoy speakers. A Panasonic DVD player and a Philips CD player completed the set up. This was upgraded bit by bit. The speakers were replaced with Monitor Audio RX8s, RXcentre and RXFX surrounds.

Then everything went wrong! The convenience of streaming my music rather than playing CDs appealed and after much research and I bought a Cyrus Stream XP2qx. Then I bought an Oppo 105. Next I bought a Marantz AV7701 7.2 pre-amp/processor and Cyrus X200 and X300sig power amps. Next a pair of "ex-display" MA GX300s and a used GX150 were obtained. They replaced the RX8s (which became my surround speakers), and the RX Centre. The XP2qx was replaced with a Cyrus Stream Xsig and a Chord Hugo dac which was later changed for the Hugo TT.

I was very happy with this system until one day in early September, 2015 when I spotted an ad for a Linn Renew KDS/1 at a very tempting price. I had long dreamt of owning a Linn system and this seemed like an ideal opportunity to sample Linn HiFi without having to take out a second mortgage! I purchased the Renew. It was a major step-up from my Cyrus streamer and I instantly loved it.