spidagoat's evolving system and a question about preamps

Share your journey!

Moderator: Staff

spidagoat

spidagoat's evolving system and a question about preamps

Post by spidagoat »

Hello,

I have been browsing the Lejonklou forum for a while now, soaking up a bit of your collective wisdom and have decided that it is high time I joined and introduced myself and my system. That and I want to pick your collective brains about preamps.

Up until a few weeks ago my system was:
[1] Apple Airport Express -> [2] Yamaha RX-V590RDS -> [3] Tannoy Mercury M3s

I have been inspired to set out on a journey of upgrades having had my mind completely and delightfully blown by two systems:
krds/0 -> kikkin -> tundra -> 109s
and:
mdsm/0 -> aktiv 4200 -> katans

The are of course a number of constraints, wife and small children included, so it is expected to be a long and incremental journey. I now work in IT, but as a teenager I spent quite a bit of time on amateur electronics including building a succession of 1W amps, so I am reasonably at home either side of the DAC so to speak, as well as much of the underlying theory, if rusty and dated! I grew up immersed in opera by my mother, tempered by many more contemporary influences from a childhood friend who still feeds me excellent recommendations (and ale) from time to time.

I have some grand(ish) plans and some possibly eccentric ideas. The former are along the lines of either driving the katans aktiv or with a tundra (or two!). The latter are around what can and can't be done on the digital side of the DAC - I think there needs to be a fundamentally different approach there to the analogue side, though tune is still the ultimate test.