Moderator: Staff

Ron The Mon
Very active member
Very active member

AirPlaying Around

Post by Ron The Mon »

Split from the Four Years in the Making topic in the Källa forum

Matteo wrote: 2021-04-20 08:40
Ron The Mon wrote: 2021-04-20 00:48 AirPlay or AirPlay 2? Are you sure?

Over ethernet? What Apple devices? What ancillary equipment?
My device is an iPhone 8, updated with the last iOS version available.

Cables are BJC Cat 6.

The router is https://tech.everyeye.it/articoli/speci ... 49070.html. No switches are involved.
Matteo,
Three things:
1] What about your ADSM? I assumed you were using a Mac computer and not an iPhone; I don't want to assume you have AirPlay 2 on the ADSM. Many here are using old firmware on their DSMs because it sounds better.

2] In my opinion, any iPhone sounds mediocre transferring music via AirPlay. I have been recommending the Apple AirPort Express as a streamer for over eight years on this Forum, with not one person trying it! It sounds fantastic using Airplay (or AirPlay 2) sourced from a Mac. I also have used two Windows XP computers with the, discontinued, Rogue Amoeba AirPlay app streaming Fidelify (Spotify Super-App) to an AirPort Express. It sounded fantastic.

I wasn't aware there was an AirPlay 2 until recently when I picked up an AirPort Express for $20 and realized the firmware was updated over two years ago! The new-to-me AE is now a streamer/DAC/pre-amp into an old Marantz power amp and Kans. This system in my kitchen was requested by my wife. We had a SONOS single speaker and she requested another to fill the whole room.

I mention all this as the SONOS product is over $600 new. The AirPort Express, power amp, and Kans cost less than that (and with better resale value), are stereo, and sound better. I suggest anyone contemplating a Källa to purchase an AirPort Express and nail down the ancillary equipment first.