Bi-amp question?

Hardware and software, modifications and DIY

Moderator: Staff

Naimless

Bi-amp question?

Post by Naimless »

Is there any downside to bi-amping Passive Akudoriks with a Linn 4200? I can understand that a power amp with a transformer would be better using only 2 channels as the power supply is not sharing its output into 4 channels. But an amp such as a 4200 with a Dynamik power supply can share the power over 4 channels with no extra effort. I have no knowledge of electronics but this is my understanding. In other words, I would have nothing to gain, and neither would the 4200, if I only used one pair of channels.
Ianw

Re: Bi-amp question?

Post by Ianw »

I’m sure you’ll get different opinions on biamping.

In the past I’ve biamped using a 4100 then later with a 4200.

In theory there should be an advantage compared to single amping. I found it did give better control but took away some of the music so not really an improvement.

Staying single amp passive with the best amps you can get will give a better result or going Aktive really moves the game on.

Just my opinion and others experience may vary; down to preference probably.
tokenbrit
Very active member
Very active member

Post by tokenbrit »

Been there; done that with a 4200: more impressive sound-wise, but musically inferior bi-amping...

There are 2-3 issues bi-amping with a 4200 that may or not concern you.

1. not all 4 channels are created equal - figure the best 2 for treble L&R; use the other 2 for bass...
2. to do that requires external interconnects rather than the internal connectors, but that's a mess of cables behind the system which compromises musicality
Even once you've figured all that out to get the best bi-amping results from your 4200...
3. bi-amped isn't as musical as single-amped.

Sorry if that's not what you wanted to read.

To echo Ianw's advice regarding staying single amp, passive with a better amp I sold my 4200, bought a Tundra and didn't look back.
Naimless