Kazoo Kraziness. Alas, no ALAC?

Hardware and software, modifications and DIY

Moderator: Staff

Post Reply
tokenbrit
Very active member
Very active member
Posts: 1067
Joined: 2012-03-22 19:47
Location: New England

Kazoo Kraziness. Alas, no ALAC?

Post by tokenbrit » 2019-01-10 20:20

Is anyone successfully streaming m4a/ALAC files (to their HAKAI) using Kazoo? Other formats work OK, but not ALAC...
This is with the latest app on the phone (Android) and on the laptop (Win10)
Am I missing something? I don't see anything on the Linn website about (un)supported formats. Kazoo appears to find all formats in the library, and HAKAI plays ALAC files just fine from BubbleDS.

jewa
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 77
Joined: 2007-01-31 18:57

Re: Kazoo Kraziness. Alas, no ALAC?

Post by jewa » 2019-01-10 23:06

I have no trouble with ALAC, but generally I stick with FLAC.

I have an installation with Debian Stretch, MPD, and also use HAKAI with Spotify Connect and multiroom with iTunes/airplay and use it with my Apple TV when watching movies. No issues whatsoever and very happy with the whole setup. Love the HAKAI.

I can use whatever control point, but prefer Kazoo. Seems to do the best job!

tokenbrit
Very active member
Very active member
Posts: 1067
Joined: 2012-03-22 19:47
Location: New England

Re: Kazoo Kraziness. Alas, no ALAC?

Post by tokenbrit » 2019-01-10 23:36

Hmmm, wonder what's going on here then... You have the latest versions of the app? I don't see much in the way of settings to configure that as an option so not sure why it's not working.

Kazoo v4.13.23.0 is what installed from the Windows Store. Appears to be the same version on Android... The last .exe that's available for download direct from oss.linn.co.uk is v4.8.1159 - I might try that instead. No joy - have checked mpd --version & m4a is included in [ffmpeg] list under decoder plugins.

Will move this to HAKAI in case Kazoo is reading mpd.conf, & supported decoders, differently for some reason and there's an additional step needed on my HAKAI to convince Kazoo that all is ok, really.

jewa
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 77
Joined: 2007-01-31 18:57

Re: Kazoo Kraziness. Alas, no ALAC?

Post by jewa » 2019-01-11 09:40

I run:

MPD 0.21.3
Upmpdcli 1.3.8
libupnpp 0.16.0

Decoder plugins:

[hybrid_dsd] m4a
and of course [ffmpeg]

Kazoo is 4.13.23 on computer and phone, but don't think it matters.

Server is Asset on Debian.

I have a 300G image of the installation, it is not large when compressed but takes some time when writing to disk with etcher. But still worth it.

tokenbrit
Very active member
Very active member
Posts: 1067
Joined: 2012-03-22 19:47
Location: New England

Re: Kazoo Kraziness. Alas, no ALAC?

Post by tokenbrit » 2019-01-11 14:45

Thanks Jewa, I'll have to double check decoders and library versions... Did you make any changes to upmpdcli config that I might need to apply to make Kazoo happy here?

I'm currently running Twonky on ReadyNAS as the music server - have minimserver on Debian to try, but surprised if that's the source of the problem: Kinsky was happy with m4a from Twonky to DS; never tried Kazoo with that setup tho'.

I think it's something Kazoo <> upmpdcli related, so will look at the config first, and go from there...

tokenbrit
Very active member
Very active member
Posts: 1067
Joined: 2012-03-22 19:47
Location: New England

Re: Kazoo Kraziness. Alas, no ALAC?

Post by tokenbrit » 2019-01-11 15:47

jewa wrote:
2019-01-11 09:40
I run:

MPD 0.21.3 - 0.20.23
Upmpdcli 1.3.8 - same
libupnpp 0.16.0 - same

Decoder plugins:

[hybrid_dsd] m4a - I do not have this enabled... Actually, I do not have this!
and of course [ffmpeg] - of course :)
mpd documentation suggests that hybrid-dsd shouldn't be necessary... BubbleDS copes ok with FFmpeg, but Kazoo may be more fussy - will play with enabling this. Thanks.

Update: nevermind, hybrid_dsd was added in mpd 0.21.x and I'm on 0.20.23 :/

springwood64
Active member
Active member
Posts: 127
Joined: 2008-10-13 18:19
Location: Devon

Re: Kazoo Kraziness. Alas, no ALAC?

Post by springwood64 » 2020-06-27 22:45

Did you solve this? I have a similar problem.
  • Upmpdcli on snakeoil
  • Bubbleupnp and twonky with open home on a separate music server.
  • Linn kazoo
I can play the alac files if I use hifi cast rendered to upmpdcli, but kazoo rendering to the openhome renderer for the same upmpdcli does not work.
Pete

Errol
Member
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2019-07-30 15:55
Location: Finland

Re: Kazoo Kraziness. Alas, no ALAC?

Post by Errol » 2020-07-06 06:05

Have you tried upmpdcli.conf parameter
checkcontentformat = 0

-e-

springwood64
Active member
Active member
Posts: 127
Joined: 2008-10-13 18:19
Location: Devon

Re: Kazoo Kraziness. Alas, no ALAC?

Post by springwood64 » 2020-07-06 06:54

Errol wrote:
2020-07-06 06:05
Have you tried upmpdcli.conf parameter
checkcontentformat = 0

-e-
I did try that eventually and it solved the ALAC issue for Kazoo. However I have given up on Kazoo because I could not make it work reliably with Qobuz. I am now using Bubble UpnP which seems reliable and has richer connectivity with other apps on the phone. Quite a few apps can cast to Bubble UpnP and play on the Hakai as a result.
Pete

Post Reply