Adikt upgrade

We use the Tune Method to evaluate performance

Moderator: Staff

Mikeg

Adikt upgrade

Post by Mikeg »

I have been using an Adikt for about 10 years now and with the introduction of the Koil I am wondering if it is time for a change. I don’t want to change for change sake but if there is likely to be a musical improvement I will bite the bullet and make the move.

Considerations:

I moved from a Dynavector DV20 because of the increasing running costs with the thought that a relatively cheap replacement stylus that brought at least as much musical enjoyment was the way to go. However the cost of the stylus has increased significantly and I find that I am replacing the stylus every 15-18 months.

Would the stylus profile of the Koil mean it would last longer? What is the exchange/replacement price on the Koil? Would that bring the running cost of the Koil closer to the Adikt?

Would the Koil work well with my system? Older versions of the AT-OC9 (on which the Koil is based) were said to be a bit brittle in the treble on an Ittok.

System:

LP12/Karousel/IttokII/Adikt/Lingo4 – setup using Tom’s torques

Naim 72 (with RSL boards)/HiCap/250/SBL

A cheaper option would be a new AT-OC9XML which although not the same as the Koil and hasn’t been tweaked by Linn is the basis of the Koil and Linn must have felt it was a decent enough base to build the Koil.

What do you think?

Mike
Last edited by Mikeg on 2023-03-29 15:05, edited 1 time in total.
Mikeg

Re: Adult upgrade

Post by Mikeg »

Problem with predictive text 😂

You've probably guessed it should be Adikt upgrade. Hopefully it got everyone's attention
Charlie1
Very active member
Very active member

Re: Adult upgrade

Post by Charlie1 »