Apple TV to Akurate DS

We use the Tune Method to evaluate performance

Moderator: Staff

Allan3630

Apple TV to Akurate DS

Post by Allan3630 »

Hi all,

I am currently streaming Spotify from my iPad to my Linn system using an Apple TV connected to a Unidisk SC (via an optic cable). I am considering upgrading to a Akurate DS/0.

My questions are:
1. Will this improve the sound?
2. How do I set it up. Do I have to run an ethernet cable from the Akurate all the way to the router. (Can I connect it to a WiFi repeater?). Do I need a NAS and how do I connect it to the network?
3. How do I connect Spotify to the Akurate?

Forgive the dum questions but I am new to the DS world and am not NAS savy!

Cheers,
Allan
Ron The Mon
Very active member
Very active member

Re: Apple TV to Akurate DS

Post by Ron The Mon »

Allan3630 wrote: 2021-02-06 14:35 I am currently streaming Spotify from my iPad to my Linn system using an Apple TV connected to a Unidisk SC (via an optic cable). I am considering upgrading to a Akurate DS/0.

My questions are:
1. Will this improve the sound?
2. How do I set it up. Do I have to run an ethernet cable from the Akurate all the way to the router. (Can I connect it to a WiFi repeater?). Do I need a NAS and how do I connect it to the network?
3. How do I connect Spotify to the Akurate?

Forgive the dumb questions but I am new to the DS world and am not NAS savvy!
Allan,
Read this helpful info about Spotify on DS.

Currently, for Spotify, you are using the iPad as a control point and source. Your AppleTV is a streamer, and the Unidisk is the DAC. With the DS, it becomes your source, streamer, and DAC; the iPad is now just the control point.

Do you use the AppleTV for anything else, like TV or other radio apps? If so, invest in the new AppleTV 4K, it has the ability to wirelessly stream to a DS (and anything else with AppleConnect) and has much better features plus improved picture and sound.