Culprit - The phono stage?

We use the Tune Method to evaluate performance

Moderator: Staff

BSilviuLuc

Culprit - The phono stage?

Post by BSilviuLuc »

Hi guys,

Newbie here, first time poster. And on this regard, I apologize if is not the right place to post.

The bottom line is: I really need some insights and opinions. Here's my story:

Last year my audio setup was: Rega Planar 3 turntable with Rega Carbon cartridge. Rega Fono MM MK3 phono stage, Revox B250 amplifier and ATC SCM 11 speakers.
Considering the fact that my turntable was at most, a decent one, and my cartridge an entry level one(40-50$), my expectations weren't that high.
Later I bought a Rega Exact cartridge. Well, I was literally blown away. A much, much better sound. Also, I noticed that this cart was much "louder". Basically, at the same volume level(as when I used Carbon), it was much louder. Which makes sense as Carbon is rated as 2.5mV output and Exact as 6.8 - 7.2 mV. Also, maybe worth mentioning: if I used the Revox's phono stage, there was a huge difference in sound quality. With the external phono stage, the sound was much better.
Unfortunately I had to return my Exact as it suffered from severe channel imbalance, and I switched back to my Carbon cartridge.

Fast forward to nowadays. I bought a new turntable: Linn Majik, with Majik tonearm, Karousel bearing and Adikt cartridge.
The rest of my setup remained the same. I had huge expectations, as I listened to this turntable a while ago, and I was expecting that my Linn will trounce my Rega on every single department. But, to my dismay, I soon realized that the sound quality between these two(Rega Planar 3 with Carbon & Linn Majik) was more or less the same. I was really puzzled now.

I tried to find out what's wrong in my setup. And the first thing that I realized: Both turntables(cartridges if you may) produces the same loudness at the same volume level. And that got me really intrigued as Adikt has a 6.5mV output.