Melco S100 Network Switch

We use the Tune Method to evaluate performance

Moderator: Staff

donuk
Very active member
Very active member

Melco S100 Network Switch

Post by donuk »

Well, I have borrowed a Melco S100 Network Switch. I have had it in my system for a few days.

It works.

Don't ask my why or how, but it does. I am not an expert on network traffic. But I borrowed the unit out of curiosity quite expecting it not to work.

I also took it yesterday to a chum who has a Naim 500 system throughout. And it worked there too.

Now, friends of mine on this forum will know that I do not consciously use the tunedem method to evaluate components.
So my comments will carry a limited weight, but I will try to explain what has improved. I use a "close my eyes and try to imagine I am at a concert" method. (Which is the way I auditioned my Tundra).

Several things are noticeably better:
The shape of individual notes - how they start and finish.
The position and depth of instruments in the stereo image is more defined.
An improved sweetness on some recordings - almost as if a distortion was removed.

Interestingly my chum said he could immediately hear a difference, but said he would not be getting one because it modified the trademark Naim sound which he admires and made his system sound more like my own (Linn ADS Kat and Tundra 2.0).

Go figure! All a matter of taste.

An expensive upgrade? Look at it this way - it improved my system to be similar to a Linn KDS which I once borrowed.
Not asking for confirmation of my ears or ability to be fooled. For me it is proof that what goes on in the digital domain can really affect sound.

Don't read the adverts. Don't post reasons why it cannot work. Just try it and listen. Don't if you cannot afford one........

Donuk beautiful downtown York
Melco borrowed from The Sound Organisation, York.
Tendaberry
Very active member
Very active member

Re: Melco S100 Network Switch

Post by Tendaberry »