Introduction

We use the Tune Method to evaluate performance

Moderator: Staff

hoolamonster

Introduction

Post by hoolamonster »

Hello all,

Wow lots of info on here, great knowledge base. This is my second post, my 1st was in the wanted section. I know greedy, but I can't help it ; )

I'm a newb to Hi-Fi. I learn somewhat quick and I do deal with ohms and circuits but more in test equipment and verification end of things. Anyhow, there's some deeper understanding of the physics.

I've been through some of the early stages looking for what I want, listening really. I do not possess any equipment worth mention but hopefully that all changes soon.

Being more budgeted yet wanting something nice I had a few instore demo's locally. I had my eyes on a pair of Linn Majik 140s. TBO I was going to budget on the amp and go emotiva. However, all of this is changing.

I was in a demo of the 140s for the second time and ask the salesperson to throw on some Floyd (after the usual demo songs he probably plays for everyone). I was shocked, in a few ways. One, I never head the recording played so well, then I'm saying to myself "something is very off putting". Long story short after going aktiv on a 6100 the issue went away. The 90w DSM couldn't keep up. It was basically like listen to someone play the drums and totally fall off beat, just makes your head snap. So in this pause I've started to rethink the compromise in amp purchase.

I didn't realize Linn amps had a decent second hand market for people like me.

So that's where I am now, looking for a 4200. I'm still thinking about the 140s but also really itching to demo SF Venere S. I think I can justify the jump on the looks alone.

Anyhow, Happy New Year to everyone! Looking forward to learning more.
ChrBea

Re: Introduction

Post by ChrBea »

Welcome hoolamonster,